1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Stuck on a Yr1 Maths Objective - could anyone help please?

Discussion in 'Primary' started by mickeygeegee, May 20, 2012.

1. Hiya, I'm new to Yr 1 and not feeling that confident with some of the planning so would anybody clarify an objective for me please?
    The main objective is - 'Describe a puzzle or problem using number, practical materials and diagrams; use these to solve the problem and set the solution in the original context'.
    It has been broken down to this - 'To be able to work with a partner or in a small group to decide the best way to describe what we found out'.
    I'm just not sure what sort of activities the children should be doing to fulfil this objective?! Any help would be really appreciated, thanks so much :)

2. Hiya, I'm new to Yr 1 and not feeling that confident with some of the planning so would anybody clarify an objective for me please?
    The main objective is - 'Describe a puzzle or problem using number, practical materials and diagrams; use these to solve the problem and set the solution in the original context'.
    It has been broken down to this - 'To be able to work with a partner or in a small group to decide the best way to describe what we found out'.
    I'm just not sure what sort of activities the children should be doing to fulfil this objective?! Any help would be really appreciated, thanks so much :)

3. It's more about how they tackle a mathematical problem, than the actual maths itself.
    I would give them something such as "How many different ways can you arrange 4 coloured counters?" in pairs and ask them to verbally explain what they did and record with drawing/colouring.

4. Wotworklifebalance