1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Struggling with Student Finance England

Discussion in 'Thinking of teaching' started by anon2145, Jun 1, 2011.

1. I am having a few problems with Student Finance. I am a mature student and I did have a small student loan about 16 years ago when I did my degree. When I did my on-line application for my PGCE at the end of March I did declare that I used to have an account with them. I sent all my paperwork, birth and marriage certificates, childrens' birth certificates, tax credit info, mortgages statements, proof of outgoings, you name it - as soon as they asked for it. They have had all this info for months, and only now - at the end of May - do they decide that I can't make a new application but I need to apply under my old account from 16 years ago. So they cancelled my current application, which gave me the fright of my life this morning when I checked it to see what they were doing. I phoned them straight away, waited forever in their queuing system, and then they tell me that yes they have cancelled my application and that I need to apply again under my old reference, which will take up to a month to process.
    I have been told by them that they have scanned all my evidence so in theory all they have to do is transfer it over. I can't understand why I have to re-apply. The guy I spoke to said somthing about data protection, but they have copies of my birth and marriage certificates and they can see that the National Insurance numbers are the same so I just cannot understand why they are being so pedantic.