1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Struggling with new BTEC Business Level 2 course

Discussion in 'Business studies' started by sairad, Jun 17, 2014.

1. sairad

sairad New commenter

Well, I'm in my first year delivering the new BTEC Business Award Level 2, I had started with Unit One Enterprise in the Business World and got to the first assignment before Christmas, this didn't go well and the students struggled with all elements and have barely reached Pass level even though some should be able to do Distinction. I decided to stop doing that Unit as the students needed to understand finance for the remainder of the Business plan part. I have taught that unit and planned to do the test before the end of the summer term but our students have work experience and that now needs to be postponed until the start of Year 11. I am now worried that I'm going to run out of time and the students are finding everything so hard and get bored with some of the subject matter.

I am interested to know which other Units you are planning to do as the options, I had thought Unit 3 and Unit 8 but looking at Unit 3 and some of the resources Pearson and Collins sell as downloads I am concerned that Unit 3 looks really difficult and not at all quick to deliver.

Any help, advice her would be appreciated. I am not doing this course again after this class, my experience this year has totally put me off. Too much paperwork, too little time to teach the content and carry out the assessments.

2. bizent

bizent Star commenter

I think you might be one of many to have had this experience!