1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

struggling to fit everything in..please help!

Discussion in 'Early Years' started by pink007, Jan 9, 2012.

1. Hi,
    I am fairly new to reception so please bear with me, I have a lot of questions! ;)
    I would really like to know what 'best practise' looks like and how you fit things in to the week. At the moment I do guided reading with all the children (there are 5 groups in my class of 30 children) one day a week, then guided writing with all 5 groups another day, within this there will be carpet times where I might introduce a new sound, read a story or do a focused literacy activity. During these days my TA will be doing handwriting practise or something similar, the rest of the children are either independently doing an adult initiated activity or playing. Then on the other days we do P.E and focus on maths activities, so I will have focused maths carpet times and then me and my TA will do some small group maths activities. During these days I will also have KUW, CD (related to our topic) and some PSHE carpet times. The 5th day is when we share the learning diaries with the children and write up observations with them, etc.