1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Struggling through my NQT year

Discussion in 'Teaching overseas' started by R3dL4mp, Feb 7, 2019.

1. R3dL4mp

R3dL4mp New commenter

I am new to this thread and clearly still new to teaching (See NQT above). I wanted to qualify to teach so that I could move abroad and teach in an international school.
    I am having a horrendous time during my NQT and almost entirely out the door but I have spoken to lots of other teachers who have taught abroad and really want to have the opportunity to experience this.

So heres my question and I feel as though I already know the answer from what I've read but do I have to complete my NQT year before I can apply to teach abroad?

2. caslh

caslh New commenter

QTS and experience are helpful but not always necessary, it will vary from school to school and between countries. Schools will also look at your previous qualifications and experience, and on your ability to add additional expertise (e.g. sports or other activities).
    Teaching abroad can be a great experience but it’s not always easy. I would advise you to think about the reasons why you are struggling - will these all be removed in an international school?
    Teaching isn’t for everyone and there are many other options for working abroad.
    This isn’t meant to discourage you though! NQT year can be tough, I hope that you have some support or feel able to ask for help.

3. february31st

february31st Established commenter

Just keep going, its tough we know. This is what makes it worthwhile on your CV.

4. Teachallover

Teachallover Occasional commenter