1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Structured play for year 1?

Discussion in 'Primary' started by dolly P, Jul 17, 2008.

1. I am teaching Year 1 for the first time next year, having taught Year 3 for the past 3 years. I have conflicting ideas in my school about how best to teach them. Some say use the autumn term to give structured play activities to ease them into Year 1, and some say that the class should get used to more formal methods of teaching as soon as possible. I'm unsure on it all, as I am totally new to this year of teaching. Does anyone have any thoughts or ideas that I could use to help me with planning?
    Thank you!

2. I am teaching Year 1 for the first time next year, having taught Year 3 for the past 3 years. I have conflicting ideas in my school about how best to teach them. Some say use the autumn term to give structured play activities to ease them into Year 1, and some say that the class should get used to more formal methods of teaching as soon as possible. I'm unsure on it all, as I am totally new to this year of teaching. Does anyone have any thoughts or ideas that I could use to help me with planning?
    Thank you!

3. We work very much on a structured play system for at least the first term of Year 1 whilst still providing some sessions of focussed teaching. Year 1 and Year 2 both have home corners and snad / water trays. Personally I'd say go for it, but how it will be perceived with your school and Head may swing that!

4. Hi,

We are trialing a new approach to year 1 transition this year by teaching soley using the foundation stage profile.