1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

structure in reception

Discussion in 'Early Years' started by miss_robyn, Feb 28, 2011.

1. Hi all,
    I'm just looking for a bit of advise from more experieced people! I have been an early years teacher for a few years and have worked by having free flow/enhancing areas alongside teacher led activties. However this year my children are so difficult in terms of making good choices, behaviour and doing purposeful activities. I am therefore wondering if a bit more structure may help e.g putting children into groups and giving them less choices? Any help would be grately appreciated!

2. InkyP

InkyP Star commenter

If you observe the dynamics of the group you might be able to find out who is causing the disruption. It might only be one or two children winding up everyone else.
    I have this situation at the moment and we have been working with the main culprit in a small group with a TA and in our school Nurture group actually teaching him how to play with other children. It has also been necessary to separate him from one other child in particular.
    We have been making slow progress (although a week off might have set us back) but it's not easy.

3. NellyFUF

NellyFUF Senior commenter

Try this game if your have enough space or can use the hall.
    Sit in a circle, ask them to think of an action that everyone can copy. No standing up. Anthing else is OK. All have to copy. When they think they are finished they fold their arms and everyone else does too.
    You will soon see who is socially dominant, who breaks the rules, who enjoys leading, who cannot take turns etc. It is very very revealing. It gives shy children an opportunity to lead etc.