1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Strike

Discussion in 'Trainee and student teachers' started by goldenbough, Nov 25, 2011.

1. My current placement school is closing to pupils for the strike on Wednesday. The majority of staff are going to be on strike, but the senior management team are going to be in and have said that as trainees, we are not employees and that we will be expected to treat it as a usual working day and turn up as normal.
    I wouldn't mind this so much if I could get work done during the day there, but the classrooms will be locked and there is only one working computer in the staff room and no desks. As a trainee, I have 2 assignments to do and could really do with a day spent productively in the library, as I am quite concerned about workload at the moment. My mentor has already told me that she does not think trainees should have to come in.
    I am considering not going into school on Wednesday as I see little point in turning up when there will be no pupils, very few members of staff and little opportunity to work. My placement there ends next week anyway. If I did not go in, what would/could the consequences be?

2. Speak to your link teacher, explaining the situation and your mentor's stance. I've already been told not to come in; others on my course are fighting for this (irony is, I'm provided with a school laptop, a well equipped department, key code access to all rooms and live 2 miles from my placement school; others on my course are not so lucky, having longer journeys, etc.)

I wouldn't just not turn up- it could be a black mark against you in terms of references and word of mouth.

What is your uni's stance on this issue?