1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Stress impact on performance at work

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by marsbarhead, Jun 16, 2019.

1. marsbarhead

marsbarhead New commenter

I have a sick note, from my GP, because of stress and anxiety. Prior to this sick note, my conduct at work had been called into question by senior leaders. I believe this was because of my stress and anxiety and I wasn’t well. I just didn’t realise at the time that my mental health was spiralling out I’d control. I’ve been teaching at the same school for almost 20 years with no history of my conduct being questioned.
    Where do I stand with regards when I return to work? Will my conduct whist ill mean there are grounds for dismissal?
    Can I apply for another job whilst on sick leave and would this affect my claims of breaching my code of conduct whist not well? Can the school continue the proceedings on my return? Will my mental health be taken into account?

2. 50sman

50sman Senior commenter

BREATHE

Now BREATHE again

If you can write down what you think the conduct at work is and what the evidence is

Write down how your mental health is being affected

now contact your union

3. grumpydogwoman

grumpydogwoman Star commenter

Chickens and eggs!

You were stressed. You may or may not have done something untoward that's deserving of scrutiny. That made you more stressed and you crumbled. Now you're stressed about being stressed etc etc etc.

Yes. Breathe. In for 5. Hold for 3. Out for 5. Slowly. Repeat.

What do YOU want?

To go back to the same school? Yes?