1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Strategies for improving attendance in sixth form?

Discussion in 'Secondary' started by Geordie05, Mar 3, 2011.

1. Geordie05

Geordie05 New commenter

<address>I work in a school with a large sixth form and have some responsibility for attendance. Although we do alot to improve sixth form attendance (e.g. monitoring attendance closely, meet with parents and students, use action plans and contracts, have rewards assemblies, phone home a lot) overall attendance has fallen a little this year. Does anyone have any effective strategies for improving attendance in sixth form? [​IMG]</address>

2. Geordie05

Geordie05 New commenter

<address>I work in a school with a large sixth form and have some responsibility for attendance. Although we do alot to improve sixth form attendance (e.g. monitoring attendance closely, meet with parents and students, use action plans and contracts, have rewards assemblies, phone home a lot) overall attendance has fallen a little this year. Does anyone have any effective strategies for improving attendance in sixth form? [​IMG]</address>

3. ferrisbueller

ferrisbueller New commenter

We use a few strategies - with varying success...
    1. Clarity of expectations BEFORE students join the sixth form e.g Assemblies, enrolment day, open evening.
    2. Electronic register in morning and afternoon.
    3. Expectation that ALL students attend every morning registration regardless of whether they have a study period.
    4. ALL absences where parents or students haven't contacted school are contacted EACH day by
    a. Text message
    b. Sometimes a phone call