1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Story Time?

Discussion in 'Primary' started by Fongool, Nov 17, 2015.

1. Fongool

Fongool New commenter

I am only a trainee teacher so am not very experienced, however I have not yet seen (in the 4 schools I have experienced) any semblance of a story time that I experienced whilst in school.

I am a mature student and left primary school just as the national curriculum was introduced so I'm not sure if I am well and truly out of touch? On questioning my English lecturer she told me that this is still a recommendation to read for pleasure with the class, and research to support it. I just wondered if there are any primary school teachers out there that still manage to fit a daily 10 minute reading for pleasure session into their day - or has it been the victim of the jam-packed national curriculum?

2. nick909

nick909 Star commenter

I love to try and fit it in as I think it's a very useful and productive thing to do, even in Y6, but I find it increasingly harder and harder to squeeze in.

3. cally1980

cally1980 Established commenter

It is a 'non-negotiable' at our school in every year group. The curriculum is absolutely packed full but I make time for story time (almost) every day before lunch or just before home time because I see the enjoyment it brings to the children and is one of the best ways to promote a love of reading. I'm surprised you haven't seen it in any of your schools in some form, especially as reading for pleasure is a big thing in the new curriculum. Even if it is not quite daily.

4. caterpillartobutterfly

caterpillartobutterfly Star commenter