1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Story based literacy session For interview

Discussion in 'Early Years' started by tak1991, Apr 30, 2016.

1. tak1991

tak1991 New commenter

Hi I am a reception teacher who has an interview for a nursery position on Tuesday .

I need to do a story based literacy session. It must have clear into , teaching and plenary.

The children must learn something new.

I was thinking of reading goldilocks and the three bears then using props to get the children to retell it ( it would included different sized bowls cups beds spoons etc. And a tough spot of porridge ) the plenary would then be that I dropped the cups etc. And then need to rematch them back.

Or I had a story sack , introduced children to the objects and then we made up a story with the objects on large paper before I read the story for plenary

Do these sound good or any better ideas ?

2. doctorinthetardis

doctorinthetardis New commenter

Yes these activities sound fine. My advice would be to do something you are confident with as this will be evident in the way you present it. I saw your post on the other forum about bear hunt and it made me think of a lovely activity one of our nursery teachers did with story mapping it using large paper and children using it to retell the activity - would be lovely to encourage mark making in some way. Just an idea and hopefully some other people will be along to give you advice or ideas :)

3. tak1991

tak1991 New commenter

Yes I wasn't sure however if it would be too predictable of a text to use at interview . It is one that I would be confident in delivering but I am sure they have heard it a gazillion times at interviews

4. grumbleweed