1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Stories with flashbacks-year 6

Discussion in 'Primary' started by wench82, Jul 20, 2011.

1. Hi,
    I am new to year 6 next year and i am trying to get literacy sorted out. Does anyone know quality texts with flashbacks?
    Also any scary/mystery stories popular in year 6?
    Thanks!

2. Hi,
    I am new to year 6 next year and i am trying to get literacy sorted out. Does anyone know quality texts with flashbacks?
    Also any scary/mystery stories popular in year 6?
    Thanks!

3. greta444

greta444 New commenter

pie corbett has a story called kidnapped. It has a flashback. My able year 5's loved it. It's probably downloadable from the net.

4. marlin

marlin Star commenter Forum guide

5. Many thanks to you both!

6. minimeerkat

minimeerkat New commenter

Hi
    The Eye of the Wolf is a good book with flashbacks, we have just done it in year 6 and the kids loved it.

7. Thanks!

8. Hi I used the Harry Potter books they hVe tons of flashbacks- e.g. To Harry,s own past and his parents through memories and the use of the pensieve.

9. Hi- not sure if you're interested, but we used a video stimulus to help get this topic started. It's quite a well known one called 'The Piano' by Aiden Gibbons.

10. Thanks to all!

11. I've used The Piano as well and have got some amazing work out of it.

12. wordclass

wordclass New commenter

I'd second this post. I tried using HP last year to great effect. Range of techniques used, e.g. diary entries, the pensieve - and possible to use a balance of written and moving image texts. People can be snobby about JK Rowling, but I was pleasantly surprised by the children's engagement (which I guess is the important bit!) M