1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Still struggling and feeling low...advice?

Discussion in 'Primary' started by Smile-a-day..., Jul 12, 2011.

1. Hi, I've been teaching for 4 years now and I feel like I'm still struggling to feel like I'm doing a good job. After the first couple of years I kept thinking that it was because everything was still new to me and that I would start to feel a bit more successful with a few more years of experience under my belt, but after 4 years, I still feel like I'm not good enough :-(
    People close to me always say "You're too hard on yourself" and try to remind me of all the positives e.g. I get on well with the children, staff, great ideas, good presence in class, good lesson obs and feedback etc. However, every time I look at the children's work I feel disappointed because I find it hard to keep on top of marking, the children's work I feel is constantly messy and unfinished and I feel like the levels I have given them for their writing are questionable because they are so inconsistent in the quality they produce. I feel like the children are capable of more but I can't seem to get enough out of them and I try to keep them in at break etc. but sometimes I forget and even when I do keep them in, its a quick rush to finish and is not always much good.