1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Stick at it!

Discussion in 'Trainee and student teachers' started by HJenx74, Sep 2, 2011.

1. HJenx74

HJenx74 New commenter

Hi,
    Good luck to all starting PGCEs this September. I just wanted to share with you a few words of advice. This time last year I started the PGCE in Primary, I was a mature student (36) with two children and I hadn't worked since having my sons - seven years before.
    In the first week at uni, we were bombarded with info and lectures and homework. We had to read academic journals and critically review them - it had been 15 years since my undergraduate degree - and I panicked. In those first few days, I seriously considered packing it in as I felt completely out of my depth, but I stuck it out, and I'm so glad I did.
    My first placement I found to be very difficult and again I considered quitting but I didn't. My subsequent placements were completely different and so productive.
    The PGCE is not easy, but it really isn't all that hard, provided you are organised and committed, and get on with assignments as soon as you can.
    I'm just about to start my first job, which is in Y6. Looking back on the past year, I can honestly say it was worth sticking at it. So, be tenacious and persevere, it will be worth it.
    Hx

2. HJenx74

HJenx74 New commenter

Hi,
    Good luck to all starting PGCEs this September. I just wanted to share with you a few words of advice. This time last year I started the PGCE in Primary, I was a mature student (36) with two children and I hadn't worked since having my sons - seven years before.