1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Stepping down from responsibility...?

Discussion in 'Health and wellbeing' started by elilala, Apr 17, 2016.

1. elilala

elilala New commenter

I have been teaching for 11 years now and have only just moved to a new school last September after spending 10 years at my first school where I started as a NQT. I have worked my way up through internal promotions as a head of year etc. and also completed my AST qualification a few years ago. I left my old school for various reasons, I was deeply unhappy and felt I had been overlooked as the 'face didn't fit'. Now I find myself 8 months in to a new job as SENCo (2nd year in the role, did 1 year at old school) and in a similar situation that I am deeply unhappy again.
    I love teaching and my passion for my subject in the classroom carries on and I know it's not that I don't want to teach anymore but I don't want the extra responsibility. Being a HoY, SENCo even more so, has been incredibly challenging and I have learnt so much but I feel it has been at the detriment of my mental wellbeing so to speak. I have sacrificed a lot in my personal life and now have the realisation I am doing a job I do not want to do.

There is no scope to step down at my current school but my question would be am I mad to 'give up' 11 years of working my backside off to progress and apply for a classroom teacher post??? Any advice welcome.

Has anyone done this?

2. campervanfreedom

campervanfreedom New commenter

HI