1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Statutory Framework for the Early Years Foundation Stage published

Discussion in 'Early Years' started by Msz, Mar 27, 2012.

1. Msz

Msz Established commenter

2. May2

May2 Occasional commenter

Where is the new dev. matters or is that not out yet?

3. The only obvious thing that I note is the changing of 6 areas for learning to 7 and splitting them so that there are the 3 'prime' areas and then the 4 other areas. So have the EYFS learning goals changed from 69 to just nine under 'specific areas' as the new EYFSP is not included with this summary? Ecuse me as I am new to EYFS! Thanks.

4. I've been checking online for this for the last 2 weeks so i could try and get ahead of the game!!! but there is no FS profile to look at yet:(

5. Thanks Msz shame the second paragraph reads 'The new EYFS, which will take effect from 1 September 2012, focuses on getting children ready for education.....'
    So education doesn't start before they are in a setting!

6. Msz

School readiness [​IMG]

7. sorry 17 not 9- so will these make up the scale points?

8. As far as I have seen (from reading consultation documents and the original suggestions), it looks as though there will only be development matters in the prime areas. So far, I've not found any dev matters in the specific areas.
    Am awaiting training from LA on this. Does this mean that nursery will no longer be teaching maths? Or should we start looking at strands in the "emerging" section of the early learning goals assessments?

9. grumbleweed

grumbleweed Lead commenter

If you click on the link given above, you will see that the development matters still covers all the areas not just the prime areas.

10. [​IMG]