1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Starting new position pregnant

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by misspt92, Aug 9, 2018.

1. misspt92

misspt92 New commenter

Back in May, I accepted a fantastic position as Head of Department at a school closer to my fiancé's workplace. I am only in my second year of teaching, so a HoD role was more than I ever bargained for at this stage. However, I recently discovered that I am 15 weeks pregnant. We're delighted, but it was a LOT earlier than planned (say 5 years early!). I only found out around the 12 week mark and everything has all been geared towards the baby since then.

I'm feeling really anxious about telling the HT. It's a small independent school and so I'm not sure if the legislation applies to them. I had lots of contractual problems with my previous school who had a very similar setup.

Should I tell the school sooner rather than later, or wait until I start in September? I haven't signed a contract yet, however I have formally accepted the job offer in writing and completed medical health assessment (long before knowing about pregnancy). I anticipate that they will be disappointed given the timing of it all and I feel like an irresponsible teenager!

My first question is, how do I go about telling the school? Organise a meeting or call? My second question is, when do I tell them given that I haven't signed a contract?

Thank you so much in advance!

2. FrankWolley

FrankWolley Star commenter