1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Starting new opportunity in September - can I still get paid for summer holidays?

Discussion in 'Career clinic' started by omega-squared, Mar 22, 2018.

1. omega-squared

omega-squared New commenter

I've been teaching in an FE college for nearly a couple of years on a permanent basis, meaning I receive an annual salary. For various reasons I have decided teaching is not right for me as a long-term career and I have been offered an opportunity elsewhere starting in September/October 2018 which is too good to pass up and I've decided to accept it.

If I am leaving teaching completely, is it possible for me to hand my notice in at such a time where I still receive pay for the summer holidays, or will an employer cut your pay off just before the summer holidays? I know on the TES website you can hand in your notice to terminate your employment as of the 31st of August but in FE colleges everything starts a week earlier.

2. omega-squared

Also, is it possible to resign at least 3 months in advance, or do you have to hand in your resignation 3 months before the last day of the summer break?

3. Trendy Art

Trendy Art Star commenter

You could approach the HR department or equivalent at the college to find out where you stand. There must be a policy in place in relation to such circumstances. Otherwise, what does it say on your contract?

border_walker and install like this.
  4. omega-squared

Three months notice. I was thinking of handing in my notice officially in the fourth week of May so that I still receive pay until 22nd August.

install likes this.
  5. Ljay279

Ljay279 New commenter