1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Starting my final placement again in September after injury/UT from Hell, what can I do?

Discussion in 'Trainee and student teachers' started by Jec34, Jun 22, 2015.

1. Hey guys, I just wanted to give a bit of background. I'm a student for Primary PGCE but I've had to defer placement because a very untimely sports injury occurred.

My first placement was awful, I was thrown at Year 6 in a failing school with a mentor who was only available in the morning, though it wasn't their fault, and what can only be described as the University Tutor from Hell. I scraped through with a Requires Improvement.

I begged for another UT but the University just told me how they're an experienced member of staff, that they work really hard etc etc, but this person was probably the least supportive person I have ever met.

After an unfortunate lesson instead of being motivated to do better I was lambasted with my UT repeatedly asking if I even wanted to be a teacher and criticising me personally rather than critically. So every observation after that was filled with anxiety and dread, unfortunately I wasn't one of their favourites invited to gatherings and additional help but I digress.