1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Starting a Tutoring Company

Discussion in 'Private tutors' started by Yasin22, Jun 26, 2014.

1. Yasin22

Yasin22 New commenter

Hi all,

I am a primary school teacher and have been teaching for 6 years. I want to start my own tuition company and have started the process already by tutoring a few small groups of kids in my spare time and applying for a trademark for my company name etc...

Eventually (if all goes well) I will leave full time teaching and probably rent a premises or buy a house and convert it into a few classrooms.

My plan is to hire tutors to teach KS3, GCSE and A'Level subjects eventually.

Here are my dilemmas:

1) What happens if a tutor I hire calls in sick? Do I cancel the session or is there another option?

2) What is stopping tutors that I hire from taking the kids they have found from my company and begin tutoring them privately, consequently taking them away from my company?

3) Do I simply let tutors create their own plans and resources or should I have some sort of set structure in place for them to follow?

I feel confident doing it on my own, but when it comes to hiring others I need to be sure I am fully prepared.

Any advice would be really appreciated.

Thanks

2. langteacher

langteacher Occasional commenter

To try to address your questions

1) If the tutor is sick as a one off am sure it could be rearranged or just missed once. Who do you envisage they are going to call if they are sick? I would call the student directly and would expect them to do the same. I don't see the need to involve a third party.