1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Starting a new job in January, confused if I can start trying

Discussion in 'Pregnancy' started by nc123, Nov 13, 2015.

1. nc123

nc123 New commenter

Hi, Please can someone offer some advice/clarification.

I'm no spring chicken and at 31 realise my clock is ticking. My husband and i have decided we would like to try for a child I however have PCOS so will 'need some help' if I can get pregnant at all. I started a new job in September and have quickly realised it is not the position for me and have since resigned and been appointed to a new position which is in a different LA due to start in January. I have been teaching for 8 years but will I qualify for maternity pay at my new school or do I have to have been working there for a certain amount of time before this will be paid? My partners job is much less paid so I'm wondering if we could/should actually afford to bring a child into this world and give him/her the best start in life.

Thank you in advance for any advice provided.

2. DaisysLot

DaisysLot Senior commenter

You can check your potential eligibility situation here - www.tesfaq.co.uk - the maternity section.

3. dogcat

dogcat New commenter