1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Start time

Discussion in 'Primary' started by emma4646, Feb 27, 2012.

1. I am a primary school teacher and due to a lengthy drive to work I get to school at about 8.30. Is this an acceptable time? I usually leave at about 5.30 and then do the usual few hours at home. I ask this as a colleague today decided to make a sarcastic comment about my start time.

2. I am a primary school teacher and due to a lengthy drive to work I get to school at about 8.30. Is this an acceptable time? I usually leave at about 5.30 and then do the usual few hours at home. I ask this as a colleague today decided to make a sarcastic comment about my start time.

3. Hi Emma.
    I get in to my classroom just 10-15 mins before my kids who start at 8:30am, then I work through all breaks & lunch (never waste time chatting or on gossip etc etc with other staff members) and ALWAYS leave at 4:15pm except Thu (4:45pm due staff meeting) and NEVER (only at report writing times then just 1 hour/night for 12 evenings over a 4 week spell due report writing) NEVER EVER take any other work (including planning/prep/marking/assessment/coordinator stuff) home. I have a class of 11 very bright Year 3 children at a Swiss private school (earning double what I would in the UK in the process) and no full-time asst to help me, not that I need one. The key is being organised and focused else you'll be in the class too long each day and your teaching will become ineffective as a result...whatever anyone else says.