1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Start a teaching career

Discussion in 'Thinking of teaching' started by thalia1, Dec 1, 2011.

1. I obtained my BS in Chemistry in Greece and then I did my PhD in Chemistry in USA. Currently I work as a researcher in the University of Bristol. Now, I am thinking to change career and go into teaching here in UK. I know only a few things about the British teaching system. Could you please advise me about the first steps that I should make? Am I eligible to teach in private and state schools here? Do I need to contact NARIC? Do I need to do the PGCE, SCITT or GTT?
    Thanks,
    Thalia

2. I obtained my BS in Chemistry in Greece and then I did my PhD in Chemistry in USA. Currently I work as a researcher in the University of Bristol. Now, I am thinking to change career and go into teaching here in UK. I know only a few things about the British teaching system. Could you please advise me about the first steps that I should make? Am I eligible to teach in private and state schools here? Do I need to contact NARIC? Do I need to do the PGCE, SCITT or GTT?
    Thanks,
    Thalia

3. Hi Thalia
    As chemistry is one of our priority subjects at secondary level, it is excellent to see that you have qualifications in chemistry and wish to teach in the UK.
    You would need the equivalent of a bachelor's degree and GCSEs grade C in English and maths to begin teacher training and you can check the equivalence of the qualifications you gained in Greece and the USA through NARIC (www.naric.org.uk).