1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Standing down from post

Discussion in 'Heads of department' started by Herbie3, Aug 17, 2012.

1. Has anyone ever resigned from their role as Head of Subject due to poor results? I seem to be in this position now (based on a few years of poor grades) and am quite desperate for some advice.

Many thanks in advance of any suggestions

2. Fortunately, no, I have no experience of this. You seem to need some feedack, however, and as no-one has replied then I shall try :)

You give no indication of any analysis of why there have been poor results. This kind of information is vital to anyone being able to offer advice:

1. What are the staff like - any decent ones, any struggling, near retirement, maternity, promotion etc?
    2. What are the kids like - able, weak, literate (or not), ethnic proportions, etc etc
    3, What's the subject?
    4. How long have you been in post, how did you come to be promoted or did you join the school in post?
    5. What has your support (from LM, Head, other members of dept.)
    6. Which groups of students are doing poorly, or is it all of them?
    7. What courses do you offer? Are they the most appropriate for the students you teach?
    8. How long do you have to turn the situation around?

That's just off the top of my head.

Apologies if you have already tried/covered all of this, but that isn't clear from your post and is probably why you have no responses.

That, or the bloody scorching weather is keeping people away from their computers...