1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

"Standardised" testing

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by chipsnegg, Feb 4, 2016.

1. chipsnegg

chipsnegg New commenter

I work in a school in foreign parts. We give Cambridge language tests to our students every year as summative assessment. Here is my problem. We give the end of course test to the children irrespective of their position in that course. For instance, we give CAE tests to children who have just started the course - and they get between 30 and 40 percent.

My argument -that giving children a test that they are designed to fail, that the stress of sitting a test which is too hard for you is counterproductive, that we as educators should never put our students in a place that they are destined to fail, is ignored as "they are standardized tests and we can see how they improve year to year"

Other than a brick about the face, what can I do to convince them their approach is wrong?

2. Scintillant

Scintillant Star commenter

Giving a different test to the children who have only just arrived will produce a greater spread of marks and will give you a better idea of the abilities and skills of the individual learners.

Try that.

3. TheoGriff

TheoGriff Star commenter

On the other hand . . .

From the school's point of view, (i.e. a financial point of view) it could be helpful to show how very much the students need the support of the school, including possibly extra paid tutoring, and won't it look good when they get a better result next year?

Just saying . . .

You don't think that all international schools are run for the benefit of the pupils, do you @chipsnegg ?

;)

Best wishes

4. Vince_Ulam

Vince_Ulam Star commenter