1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Stagnating and school won't allow me on training courses

Discussion in 'Career clinic' started by AbbieH, Sep 14, 2019.

1. AbbieH

AbbieH New commenter

Hi

I have been teaching science for 9 years and am very successful at turning a failing dept into good to outstanding. The problem is I don't want this to be the only thing that I do and schools employ me for. I need to do something else to grow as a teacher.

I am very passionate about enrichment opportunities and would love to be more involved in careers guidance but my current school is not interested and turns down all requests for training during school time regardless of how good the business argument is for the development of students.

If anyone has any suggestions on any training that might be beneficial I would love to hear. I am willing to pay for my own courses but they have to be online or outside of school hours.

Thank you

2. peakster

peakster Star commenter

Apply for promoted posts in other schools.

Simples

3. phlogiston

phlogiston Star commenter

School I know best uses non-teaching staff to deliver work related education. I think they're good, but obviously cost a lot less than teachers.

4. starlightexpress

starlightexpress Occasional commenter

I’ve not had training in school time, apart from advanced safeguarding and similar, for 10 years. This is since being in roles post DH level. I do have an agreed course pending now I’m in a new MAT.

For all of those years, I’ve seen the experiences as ongoing ‘training’. Like you, my experience has been turning around failing contexts.