1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Stage 1 Absence meeting with head. Need advice.

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by tjmr22395, Jan 9, 2019.

1. tjmr22395

tjmr22395 New commenter

Hi All,

I am in my second year of teaching and next week I have a stage 1 absence meeting with my head as I have 6 leaves of absences in a 12 month period which equals to 9 and a half days (two of the absences are just for an hour each however still a period of absence).

The reason for half of these absences is because last year I was an egg donor for a family member and needed two days off for appointments e.g. injection training. I also needed a week off as I got a nasty infection after the egg retrieval and was in the hospital for a few days recovering. The frustrating thing is I planned the egg retrieval to be in the Easter holidays so I didn't need any time off but obviously I got the infection afterwards!

My department and line manager knew about this egg donation however I have no idea if the head knows.

The other three leaves of absences are genuine sickness and compassionate leave reason etc (they in total add up to 3 and a half days).

Do you think I have anything to worry about or is this just standard protocol? Obviously, I will explain to my head that the IVF treatment is now over and I will not be needing any more time off for IVF appointments. Can anyone offer any more advice?

My main worry now is if I need time off for my Grandfathers funeral (he has been receiving an end of life care so doesn't have long) will this get me into more trouble?

I would just like to point out my head is lovely and very supportive I just haven't been to anything like this and I'm nervous about it!