1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Staff turnover?

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by MrSirsirsir, Jun 14, 2015.

1. I have been working in my current school for 6 years and I have only ever taught in 2 other schools and I do not know what is accepted as normal staff turnover.

This year we have 17/90 staff leaving. Last year was 31/90, the previous was 19/90, and then 25/90. We frequently have staff leaving with nowhere to go to, preferring to take the risk of resigning by our early resignation date and finding somewhere else.

Behaviour is on a downward spiral as new teachers, understandably, do not have the reputation us old timers (6 years in and I am one of the longest serving teachers which feels quite weird).

Is this normal? (not sure if it makes a difference but its Indy).

2. CWadd

CWadd Star commenter

What's normal? 100 staff in 4 years does seem a little excessive!!

I'm surprised at this turnover in an Indy school. I've taught in two, and most of the staff tend to spend their entire careers - or at least 70% of it! - in the school.

Behaviour is on a downward spiral? Interesting. It sounds as though policies to deal with behaviour are not really in place. It also sounds as though new staff are coming in thinking it will be a walk in the park compared to State - and finding it does not match their expectations.

I tend to think what other people do is irrelevant. Do you want to stay or not?

3. ridleyrumpus

ridleyrumpus Star commenter

We had about 23 leave last year and about 25 this year out of approx 100 teachers, this is way more than in previous years and I do not think it normal. I think it is indicative of something going wrong.