1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

staff meetings with small baby

Discussion in 'Parenting' started by newmummy1, Dec 26, 2010.

1. newmummy1

newmummy1 New commenter

Hi everyone
    Just wondered how people deal with after school meetings when they return to work. My baby will be 8 months when I go back full time and our staff meeting runs til 5pm. This really worries me as I will have so little time with her by the time I get home. Also my school piled on the pressure during my pregnancy for me to 'do my bit' in the way of extra curricular activities after school, so I'm concerned they will make it hard for me again. I am a good teacher and work very hard at my job but I want to prioritise my baby.
    Also how do people cope with planning and workload in general and still have time for baby?
    Thanks.

2. cariad2

cariad2 New commenter

I went back full-time when Cariadlet was about 7 months old. I was lucky in that she was cared for by my boyfriend or his parents while I was at work. I tried to get home for 5.30 - apart from planning nights which were later.
    I made up a rotating 3 week menu, and cooked up batches of food which I froze. Then Cariadlet's dad and grandparents could give her dinner before I got home, while I did bathtime and bed time.
    It wasn't ideal for me, only having a short time with her in the evenings. But she was fine, and at least I had the whole weekend and holidays with her.
    I've found the only time to make being a full-time teacher and a half-decent parent work, is through sleep deprivation!