1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Staff dress code

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by pianopete, Sep 11, 2018.

1. pianopete

pianopete Occasional commenter

Hello,

Has anyone been subject to a talk or more serious proceedings (warnings etc.) regarding their own dress e.g. piercings, visible tattoos. If so, how did it go? Did you school have a clear staff dress code/restrictions or was it vague interpretation by LMT of what constitutes "professional" dress. I'd be appreciative of any advice, information or just being forewarned.

I am a male teacher with a visible ear-piercing (stud only). Student uniform policy doesn't allow boys to wear any jewellery (even though girls can) and staff code simply talks about "professional dress" with no specifics. Another male teacher has already been asked to remove earrings and has complied.

Thanks

Curae and pepper5 like this.
  2. caterpillartobutterfly

caterpillartobutterfly Star commenter

How long have you been at the school?
    Has there been a change of leadership?
    Have you been issued with a new dress code?

agathamorse and Lara mfl 05 like this.
  3. pianopete

My 7th year. Dress code has always simply said "professional." No change in wording or leadership. The wording hints at staff following the same "standards" as the students, but given that heels, nail varnish, jewellery, hair cuts, facial hair on existing staff all violate this... not sure how that sentence is supposed to be interpreted.

Curae and pepper5 like this.
  4. Lara mfl 05

Lara mfl 05 Star commenter