1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Specific Facebook comments in policy

Discussion in 'Computing and ICT' started by pmp4, Mar 23, 2011.

1. Sorry I should have been a bit more specific. I am a lead teacher and some of the schools I work with are working together on an Internet policy. I know you have to be 13 but every primary school has children that have Facebook accounts. Sometimes set up by parents. Also some parents are slagging off the school and having a go at kids on Facebook. I am starting to dread Mondays because some tiny disagreement on a Friday gets blown out of proportion, via Facebook, by Monday. I just want to have a specific paragraph about what we can do as a school. For example, do you think I should have a statement about informing Facebook if we find kids in our school that have an account?

2. Thanks DEmsley

3. becktonboy

becktonboy New commenter

In order to future proff any policy staement it might be an idea not to mention specific sites but rather refer to social networking sites or group accessible via digital technologies. You might simply state that the school will comply with any such group's own policy, leaving the door open to reveal ages to sites such as Facebook if the school considers it necessary..
    Personally I don't think we can do anything about the disagreements enabled by such sites, just promote good relationships, highlight ways to handle conflict with deal with the aftermath in school in the ways we always have.