1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Spanish teacher from The Bahamas wanting to teach in the UK

Discussion in 'Modern foreign languages' started by rencurry, Dec 26, 2011.

1. Hello,
    I'm a Spanish teacher from The Bahamas with four years of teaching experience. I pretty good stable life here in The Bahamas but my dream is to move to the UK along with my husband and children to teach. I've seen many positions advertised for french teachers but rarely come across positions for teachers of Spanish. I would like to know what you think my chances are of being hired for a spanish teaching position being an overrseas trained teacher?

2. spsmith45

spsmith45 New commenter

I think that having Spanish qualifications may put you at a disadvantage because British headteachers do not know what they represent and are more familiar with UK qualifications. For example they can recognise the reputation of a university or quality of a degree from the UK.
    On the other hand there may be an increase in the demand for Spanish teachers soon as the Ebacc dipoloma begins to raise the number of pupils doing languages at key Stage 4.
    Another factor will be where you might wish to work. Demand for teachers is variable depending on the region.

3. Thank you for your response but let me clarify one thing; my degree was obtain from the university here in The Bahamas which was a former colony of Britain until 1973 but we still follow the UK's education system although it has been slightly contaminated by amercian's. I have checked with the UK NARIC and my degree is recognised as being on par with a degree obtained in the UK.
    Once a again thank you for your response as it gives me a bit of hope:)

4. catmother