1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Spanish teacher from South America looking for advice.

Discussion in 'Modern foreign languages' started by Colombianteacher13, Oct 26, 2011.

1. Hey there,Im a Colombian MFL teacher with six years teaching experience in Colombia, Plus a Master degree
    well I got married with a British and move to London, well I have not go a QTS and I was thinking about go into PGCE , but just wanna know if is EASY OR DIFFICULT to FIND a JOB as a SPANISH TEACHER here, honestly the PGCE is very expensive and I wanna know if it's worth it, or SHALL I use my Languages skills in other kind of job,
    I know the PGCE is the best option than hope to get in a OTTP.
    JUST NEED TO KNOW HOW BIG IS THE DEMAND OF SPANISH TEACHERS.
    Thanks and have a great day!

2. Hi
    I am an adult student of Spanish. I used to have a Columbian teacher, she is also married to a British citizen and has children. She was a phenomenal teacher and we valued her very highly. She applied for a job as a Spanish teacher at a local grammar school and despite not having QTS was appointed I imagine because she had been so successful teaching adults. She is now doing her QTS alongside teaching which is very hard.
    I was told that a post in a local school for a Spanish teacher attracted 80 applicants, mostly from highly educated Spanish applicants but they lacked QTS.
    So based on this I would say that getting into teaching via adult education is one route, otherwise you will need to do PGCE to be considered.
    To encourage you the area where I live has had a real problem recruiting a suitable native speaking Spanish teacher.

3. Hey OTTER,