1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Son's report....question

Discussion in 'Secondary' started by SodaPop, Jul 5, 2010.

1. SodaPop

SodaPop New commenter

I am a teacher, although not secondary and this is my first post on this forum...be gently!!
    My son brought his report home today, he is in year 8. My question is:
    Is it acceptable for his form tutor to 'cut and paste' the comment from last year when he was in year 7?
    My son's name was spelt wrong last year and is again this year. The 4 lines he has wrote (pasted) are the same, all but one. My son goes to a Cathlic secondary school and his name appears in the bible several times and only has 5 letters...not too tricky I would say!!
    Last year I let the incorrectly spelt name pass by but this year I am very cross.
    Advice please.

2. trinity0097

trinity0097 New commenter

The comment bank we have set up for tutor repports in Yrs 7 & 8 is the same set of comments, so it's conceivable in our school that a child could get the same comments both years if there is no change in anything.
    Is the name spelt incorrectly elsewhere in the report or just the tutor bit? If everywhere then it may have been incorrectly entered onto the school database,if just the tutor comment then why not ask your son to mention it to his tutor?