1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Songs for year 3/4

Discussion in 'Primary' started by SomeDogsDo, Jul 8, 2018.

1. SomeDogsDo

SomeDogsDo New commenter

My background is in Early Years and in September I will be teaching upper KS1/ Lower KS2. My repertoire of songs is not really appropriate...can you please recommended songs that would appeal to this age group.

2. sparklepig2002

sparklepig2002 Star commenter

See if your school will subscribe to Sing Up.It is a fantastic resource and will benefit the whole school.
    Have a look on You Tube- you can find topic linked songs there.
    Have a look at Out of the Ark resources.
    Ask the current year 3/4 teachers what they use.

digoryvenn likes this.
  3. ViolaClef

ViolaClef Lead commenter

Sing Up is a great resource - but it’s such a shame the material is only available if you subscribe. Being able to buy/download individual songs would have been the best way forward, in my opinion.
    The repertoire that ‘works’ for Years 2, 3 and 4 will be dependent upon the cohort of children - sometimes you find that what went down well with one class doesn’t catch the imagination of another.
    Try a mix of sea shanties (e.g. What shall we do with the drunken sailor?), traditional songs (e.g. My bonnie lies over the ocean, Puff the Magic Dragon), songs from films (e.g. Bare Necessities), old pop songs (Yellow Submarine), rounds (Frere Jacques), action songs (e.g. Heads, Shoulders, Knees and Toes, Nicky Nicky Nicky Noo - from songbooks published by A & C Black) to new songs from publishers like Out of the Ark, Grumpy Sheep Music etc.

4. ViolaClef

ViolaClef Lead commenter