1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice
  3. The Teacher Q&A will be closing soon.

If you have any information that you would like to keep or refer to in the future please can you copy and paste the information to a format suitable for you to save or take screen shots of the questions and responses you are interested in.

Don’t forget you can still use the rest of the forums on theTes Community to post questions and get the advice, help and support you require from your peers for all your teaching needs.

Dismiss Notice

Solo parent - best places to teach overseas?

Discussion in 'Teaching overseas' started by Teachwoody, Jan 31, 2019.

1. Teachwoody

Teachwoody New commenter

Hi. I'm relatively new to the whole commenting thing. I always just read but figured would be good to actually get responses to my own question.

I'm a solo parent to a 7 year old boy and have been teaching for over 10 years in secondary schools. I have a wide range of experience in state schools (BA and PGCE) and am about to start in an independent school this term.

I have always wanted to teach overseas but fear held me back before I was a parent and since having my son, circumstances.

I would like to know anyone else's experiences of teaching overseas and if there are any recommended countries, areas or schools that people could advise on...particularly as a lone parent.

I'd be keen to know about money, community, work life balance, quality of education, visas, cost of living, as well as any other points that are useful.

I really want to do some research and hope to make an application for the 2020 recruitment drive.