1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Social Science/Sociology PGCE

Discussion in 'Thinking of teaching' started by rachel213, Jan 19, 2011.

1. Hi
    Im in my first year of uni at the minute studying Sociology, with the hope of going into teaching, eventually I'd like to teach AS/A level [​IMG]
    I know its getting more and more competitive, and I've already had a meeting with the careers centre and they've told me to get as many observations in schools and general leadership experience with children etc,
    I was just wondering if theres anything that would substantially increase my chances of getting on a PGCE course? Like teaching english abroad, Camp America etc-do training providers actually value experience like this or would they just prefer more observational experience? :S
    Any help would be appreciated, thank you!

2. Hi Rachel
    I also want to teach sociology and psychology A/AS level (both subjects can often be found at GCSE too so try and see lessons of that too), and have applied to the IOE social science PGCE whilst I'm in the last year of my degree. The entry requirements say you need a minimum of 2 weeks work experience, which I have and more, but I was shocked to find at the interview that over half the people were already working in schools as TAs or cover supervisors, and were applying for course for the second time. So it's quite a competitive area, and you may need to be prepared to have a year out first, even if you get lots of experience now.