1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Social, moral, spiritual and cultural awareness... with maths?!

Discussion in 'Mathematics' started by Nimstar, Jan 12, 2012.

1. Hi,
    I am after some inspiration! I've been asked to do a presentation (I am a PGCE student) demonstrating how my subject (maths) promotes "the social, moral, spiritual and cultural development of the students" and not really sure where to start. Can anyone help give me a jump-start??
    Thanks,
    Nim

2. Chazette

Chazette New commenter

Theres loads to do with that - you just have to look. History of Maths is a good place to start, and if you gauge it right, kids really enjoy it.

3. This book would be a good start for you. If you don't have time to order it, the page shows some topics in the book you could research on your own.
    For example, in Bath Water, the exercise is to work out the volums of a bathful of water, and to work out how long a child in African who has to walk however-many miles for a bucket of water would take to fetch that much water.
    There's one that shows information about an average day in the life of a child working in a Third World factory and in vites the students to draw a pie chart of it as well as one showing their own typical day.
    It's a good book. It doesn't moralise or preach.
    Also stuff about the history of maths as said above. They are usually astounded to learn it wasn't us Europeans who invented all maths!!

http://www.amnesty.org.uk/books_details.asp?BookID=10

4. strawbs

strawbs Occasional commenter

"Maths in other cultures" is a good way of tackling this - areas that could be good to mention are