1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

SMT overseas applying for SMT UK

Discussion in 'Senior Leadership Team' started by kundry1, Nov 19, 2011.

1. I left the UK 5-6 years ago. I was a class teacher without any post of responsibility (besides music coordinator) at that time. Since then I have been on the SMT of two British international schools -- Primary Curriculum Coordinator and Head of Juniors.
    I am considering moving back to the UK, and would ideally want to apply for management positions. If I were to stay international, I would want to apply for DHT positions. Can anyone give me some advice about reentering UK teaching at a senior level?

2. Middlemarch

Middlemarch Star commenter

You're going to have to demonstrate in your application first of all, in order to get the chance to present yourself at interview - that you offer the school the kind of experience, skills and qualities it requires in a deputy head.
    You need to begin, I think, by getting a number of deputy head job descriptions and analysing what the job entails. Then, you need to try to match your skills, qualities and experiences to the range of deputy head tasks and responsibilities, ensuring you can illustrate each point with real examples from your work experience.
    What is crucial, however, is that you are able to demonstrate that the experience you've had in these international schools has made you a very good candidate to be a deputy head in a state school (I'm assuming you mean to apply to state schools) in the UK - because a lot of heads and governing bodies will start from the premise that it has not.