1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Smart Boards in the classroom?

Discussion in 'Primary' started by jozy_100, Feb 2, 2011.

1. Hi, I am studying to become a primary teacher and I am currently researching into the impact of technology in todays classroom. I was wondering if any of you would be kind enough to let me know what you think about the use of smart boards in primary schools (under used/ over used etc) and if you feel you are given enough training on them? Thank you very much for your time.

2. Mine sits on the wall gathering dust. It doesn't work most of the time and when it does it is in such an awkward place in the room that the children can't see it and if it is a sunny day the picture is lost completely due to all of the windows in my room.

3. oldsomeman

oldsomeman Lead commenter

mine has been out of action 2 weeks waiting for a bulb......I hang bits of paper on it and move them round....kids dont think its very interactive lol
    I use it alot as there are never books in the school to cover what i teach and i refuse to spend hours making my own any more.
    Its normally used for most lessons but the internet connection is cr ap....so in the middle of a lesson it goes down and has to be re-started.
    thye are merly a tool in learning and they are only part of our 'amoury'......mind you there is a stake to go in the heart missing from that armoury...thats for the naughty kids by the way![​IMG]