1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Small group tuition

Discussion in 'Private tutors' started by bramblesarah, Nov 20, 2019.

1. bramblesarah

bramblesarah New commenter

Hi All,
    I have been asked to do some 'Small' group tuition at a school. I am a qualified teacher so I have taught full classes i have never tuition a small group privately. What is your maximum group sizes? How much do you charge per pupil? They have SEN. I just want to set a maximum before I agree to it otherwise I I bet the group will get bigger and bigger until I have my own class!

2. SayItLikeItIs

SayItLikeItIs Occasional commenter

Hi bramblesarah, I have worked as an SEN teacher (employed by the school, so not in a position to name my price nor state a maximum size), working with 'small' groups. You do need to be really careful about your boundaries here. With my groups, I had a TA and we had between six to twelve children per group, depending on which way the wind was blowing with the Head. Although it looks as though you will be self-employed, you will under a certain amount of pressure to show progress, SEN notwithstanding.

The children I had in my groups were a complex mix of ASD/MLD/SpLD. That made it hard to do group teaching. (Two years on, when I left, I heard that the TA and the teacher divided the children into sub-groups and taught them entirely separately.) They came from various classes, one of whom had swimming once a week and then alternate weeks they went off to the senior school to do science. It was really most unsatisfactory, and I could never have known this before taking up the post.

The following questions arise: