1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Small dilemma

Discussion in 'Jobseekers' started by Lara mfl 05, Jan 5, 2012.

1. Lara mfl 05

Lara mfl 05 Star commenter

Not much use to you on employment issues, but it sounds as if just by writing you've got your thoughts straight.
    Just be honest and go and see your employers.

2. Moony

Moony Lead commenter

When I was a student I have a part time job with Woolworths (showing my age) and I had a 0 hours contract. I still worked regular shifts but it gave me a little more flexibility, I don't know if thats something you could think about?

3. Thank for the advice guys. To be honest if the school offered me the job I would take it (as ultimately it's what I want to do) and then would just sort out my notice period with Next, by saying I can't work during the week after such and such a date, and I want to use that period as my notice. They'd probably kick up a bit of a a fuss, but what would they honestly do? I'm offering them an alternative to make sure my hours required are covered, and if I got the teaching job I wouldn't need them as a reference anyway! Is there actually a legal requirement to serve out ones notice period?

Now Next have kept me on I may need to sign a new contract with them anyway, so I guess I could always bring it up with them then. Fingers crossed it sorts itself out one way or another. It is of course possible that I'm worrying about nothing as I don't even know if the school is definitely interested yet!

4. TheoGriff

TheoGriff Star commenter

The Next decision has to be yours, of course, but I feel that although they have that notice period, they would be understanding if you got a teaching job.