1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Skype Visits - Have you had any visitors?

Discussion in 'Primary' started by JosieWhitehead, Jan 22, 2016.

1. JosieWhitehead

JosieWhitehead Star commenter

I've been a teacher all my working life and wasn't planning on changing career in my retirement but. . . . I volunteered to visit children in my local school for one hour a week (oh how I enjoyed this!) - and six months into my visits things changed. The children were thoroughly dissatisfied with a poem they'd just had and I volunteered to try to write a poem for them for the next week, and I instantly regretted it as I'd never been to a creative writing class in my life. However, now there are 1,350 poems and last year, from the website they insisted I built, I learned they went into 188 countries. I'm called back into school classrooms now all over the world but by Skype. Children in Costa Rica saw snow falling last year and children in Ghana saw it this year through my window here in Yorkshire. (They both wanted me to read them snow poems). They marvel at how green our English world is. I Skype into their worlds and they love to Skype into my world. I've been adopted as "auntie" by children in a charity school and children in Argentina sent me a picture to go with my poem "A Little Green Caterpillar". It was hand-delivered to my Yorkshire home by their lovely teacher, Graciela, and we're best friends and often meet for tea and chat - by Skype. But in all of this time I've yet to be invited into schools in the UK and have often wondered if Skype visits are not allowed. I'm well into granny-hood now, and travelling across towns to find schools in my car worries me. Then I'm less likely to catch th