1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Skills based curriculum

Discussion in 'Primary' started by samjw86, Apr 14, 2011.

1. Hi,
    Im a teacher at a school in Wales and we are looking to change our planning to a more skills focussed approach. We are a little lost at where to begin and would appriciate any ideas/advise/examples.

Thanks

2. The curriculum has not been changed since 2000. What are you talking about?

3. Milgod

Milgod Established commenter

I was thinking the same thing. They must have meant 2000?

4. Er....no.
    The National Curriculum in Wales was reviewed and updated in 2008 and we have been teaching from a whole new set of curriculum documents since then.

http://wales.gov.uk/topics/educationandskills/schoolshome/curriculuminwales/arevisedcurriculumforwales/nationalcurriculum/?lang=en

5. Milgod

Milgod Established commenter

What are the big differences from before? It doesn't look anymore 'skills based' than England's Curriculum.

6. If you haven't read the documents in depth, or aren't familiar with actually teaching it, then the differences may not jump out at you, but they are there.
    Some areas haven't changed very much, but others are quite different.
    The whole thing is based on the idea of skills development and there's a separate document to guide us on this.
    http://wales.gov.uk/topics/educationandskills/schoolshome/curriculuminwales/arevisedcurriculumforwales/skillsdevelopment/?lang=en