1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Skills Audit

Discussion in 'Primary' started by sallysparrow, Jan 30, 2012.

1. Does anyone have a simple audit for maths skills for staff (Primary)?
    Would be very grateful to see a copy or to hear where i can find one on line.
    Thanks [​IMG]

2. No - sadly it doesn't.
    Do you honestly think you are strong in all areas of maths and english? Although i am a maths leader and i have an English degree, i am well aware that there are areas where a little more support would be welcome. In my view, to believe that i know everything about anything is rather arrogant.
    there is a need to ensure that maths is taught to a high standard and staff need to be invited to assess their own knowledge and ask for help in areas that they are not strong.
    I have seen maths lessons where mis information is rampant.
    I have had TAs in year 6 maths group not knowing what prime factors are let alone how to find them - but they are expected to support the children in their learning.!
    When we know where weaknesses are - we can put support in place in the form of training if need be.
    Thanks for your input though - much appreciated.

3. greta444

greta444 New commenter

perhaps ask ITT providers. If you really want to go ahead with this.
    I really think this should be on a voluntary basis. I would be very put out if I were made to take such a test. Sorry, audit.
    I have a maths degree and feel I have a fairly secure grasp of the subject.

4. Errr how many primary teachers have a maths degree? probably not that many. How many primary teachers lack confidence in teaching maths - a straw pole of teachers i know at various schools indicates - quite a few.