1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Sixth Form - monitoring students with conditions of entry to the Sixth Form

Discussion in 'Secondary' started by PHurley, Apr 15, 2011.

1. Hi,
    I am currently in my first year as a HoY and have been working hard to make an impact within the school and Sixth Form. We currently offer prospective Year 12 students places within our Sixth Form at times with conditions of entry. This relates to their behaviour/achievement/attendance in Year 11 as identified through their references. For example, a student may have a condition that attendance must remain above 90% or that progress and meeting deadlines will be monitored.
    I have therefore spent a lot of time since this last September following up on students' progress related to these conditions (I started with 70 students with conditions and because of improvement through checking and giving feedback/setting targets I am down to 15 - a much more manageable number and a brilliant success). I have monitored students by sending out tick box sheets to teachers and collating results as well as sending personalised emails with respect to individual students. As I have said, this has been successful but is very time consuming from a management point of view (when I should be spending more time analysing and dealing with issues).