1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Situation in Dubai

Discussion in 'Teaching abroad' started by Timetofly, Mar 4, 2019.

1. Timetofly

Timetofly New commenter

Is it as dire as people make out? I’ve heard from colleagues that schools are unwilling to consider teachers with dependents. I’ve got 4 years experience in a [This comment/section has been removed for breaching our Community Guidelines/Terms and conditions] school, 2 in full time and 2 on full time supply as well as 2 years experience in UK. I have 2 children but none in school as yet and my husband is not coming with us. Am I not a desirable candidate? I’m committing to another year in current country so not applying until next year. Some people at my school have applied for positions in Dubai (UK teachers with 5+ years experience) and had no interviews!

Last edited by a moderator: Mar 4, 2019
  2. dumbbells66

dumbbells66 Lead commenter

There are plenty of other countries out there

3. Powergnome3

Powergnome3 Occasional commenter

Simple answer is ‘no’ - in as much as I know plenty of people employed this year with families.
    The more thorough answer though is that times are tough, so it most certainly does come into the reckoning for employers - given two pretty equal candidates, even the top schools will look at dependents now. This does make it tougher for an interviewee with two or more children - they have to really stand out!
    The lower ranking schools have always been the same - priority 1: will the candidate accept this comparatively lousy pay and terrible accommodation... only if they are young and single!

Mr_Frosty and Timetofly like this.
  4. amysdad

amysdad Established commenter