1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Single parent wanting to teach overseas

Discussion in 'Teaching overseas' started by bobbie1991, Jan 9, 2018.

1. bobbie1991

bobbie1991 New commenter

Hello

(I’m very new to this, first post, so please be nice!)
    I am a single mother of a 5 year old and am currently teaching in London. I’m hoping to move abroad and trial teaching overseas. I’d love to work in Europe and have been looking at various countries. I don’t really have a preference but would like to be in an International school.
    My issue is the benefits packages... both the Middle East and Asia offer fab packages including a school place for my son, flights home, medical insurance etc but Europe don’t seem to have the same sort of benefits. Is this right?
    Can anybody recommend some good places to look into/websites to look on?

Thank you

2. the hippo

the hippo Lead commenter Community helper

Yup, that is more or less right, bobbie1991. Europe has the culture and the convenience, but on the whole the ME and SE Asia will offer a better overall package.

According to an ancient legend, there is a fabled beast, wrinkled and covered in mud, that is doomed forever to wander the TES Teaching Overseas forum. Those who seek answers to their questions from this aged oracle send him one of those Conversation things.

KarenEvs likes this.
  3. StrangePanda

StrangePanda New commenter