1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Single mum thinking of working in Bangkok

Discussion in 'Teaching overseas' started by ettie72, Jan 8, 2012.

1. Hi all. I've been teaching secondary English for 15 years now, the last 5 of which have been in Scotland, and been part time since having my son in 2008. However, I'm really struggling to get a a full time position back in England (been told that I'm simply too expensive now and that, thanks to budget cuts, cheaper, less experienced staff are being favoured.) Sooo, feeling utterly demoralised and undervalued, I'm considering applying for jobs abroad for a few years. Working abroad has always interested me, and now I have a child, I'd love to give him the experience of a different culture and the opportunities that this affords. However, I'm a single mum and I'm not sure if this would be frowned down upon. I'm interested in Bangkok, UAE and Hong Kong (so far!) but am I being unrealistic? Conventional families and young teachers (I still consider myself young!! 40 in March!! Gawd!) seem to be welcomed, but would cultural differences be a problem? All advice would be very much appreciated!